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RULES INTERPRETERS 
 

Board #6 - Hartford & Middlesex Counties   

Charlene Shepard – State Interpreter 

charleneshepard@hotmail.com 

Board #7 - Litchfield County   
Charley Harbach  

charbach@charter.net  

Board #8 – New London County  

Michael Thomas  

coachmthoops@gmail.com  
Board #9 - Fairfield County  

Glen Colello 

                Glencolello69@gmail.com 

Board #10 - New Haven & Middlesex Counties  

Steve Wodarski 
 swodarski@snet.net 

Board #35 - Tolland & Windham Counties 

Ben Wakely 

Ben_wakely@hotmail.com 

 
A message from State Interpreter Charlene Shepard:   

Each Connecticut Board Rule’s Interpreter has been charged with 

delivering IAABO’s message of “One Rule, One Interpretation, 
One Set of Approved Mechanics”. With that in mind, all officials 

are obligated to enforce the rules as written, points of emphasis, and 

good sportsmanship throughout every contest. As Interpreters, we 

strive to provide quality training and education to enhance each 

official’s ability to perform at their best. Finish the season strong! 
 

Game Situations 

 

Play 1: A1 is fouled by B1 and fakes being fouled. The official 

calls the foul and ignores the fake.  Is the official, correct? 

Answer: The official is correct. Faking being fouled is penalized 

when the act occurs with no contact or during incidental 

contact.   (NFHS 4-49; IAABO Manual 19:2) 

Play #2: B1 reaches over the boundary plane on a throw-in and 

slaps the ball out of A2's hand. The official rules a technical foul on 

B1. Later in the game, the same player bats the ball away after a 

made basket, preventing the other team from starting the ensuing 

throw-in. The official assesses the player with his 2nd technical foul, 

which would disqualify him from the contest. The other official 

quicky comes in and notifies his partner that it is a team technical 

and that they had already been given a warning when B1 received 

the technical for batting the ball out of the hands of the thrower. Is 

the official, correct? 

Answer: The official is correct. The first act counts as the first 

Team Warning in addition to the Technical Foul assessed to B1. 

The second foul counts as a Team Technical Foul and B1 is not 

disqualified. (IAABO Handbook Page 79 Chapter 9 Segment 5 

Part C Penalty. Also, Chapter 17 Segment 1 Part I. NHFS 

Rulebook Rule 9-2 Article 10 Penalty 3) 

Play #3: A1 is dribbling in his backcourt when the ball is batted out 

of bounds with 31 seconds remaining on the Shot Clock. Team A 

throws the ball in, and the player proceeds to dribble in the 

backcourt towards the division line. With 25 seconds remaining on  

 

 

the shot clock, the Lead official calls a 10 second backcourt 

violation. The other official comes in and reminds his partner that 

the throw-in started with 31 seconds on the clock and that Team A 

now has until 21 to get the ball into the front court. The officials 

rule an inadvertent whistle and award the ball back to Team A. Are 

the officials correct?  

Answer: The officials are correct. The shot clock does not get 

reset and stays at 25. (IAABO Handbook Chapter 9 Segment 10 

Part A; NHFS Rulebook Rule 4-36 Article 1).  

Play #4: A1 deflects B1’s pass toward the sideline. A1 chases after 

the ball, jumps from the court, controls the ball and requests a 

timeout prior to landing out of bounds. The official denies the 

request because the player is in the air. Is the official, correct? 

Answer: No, there is no stipulation about where a player must 

be, only that they have player control. (NFHS Rule 8-3a) 

Play #5: With the AP arrow favoring Team A and 20 seconds 

remaining on the shot clock, A1’s try for goal gets wedged between 
the backboard and the rim. The officials award the ball to Team A 

and don’t reset the shot clock. Are the officials correct? 

 

Answer: No. S ince the arrow favors Team A, they are awarded 

the ball for a designated spot throw-in from the nearest of the 
four designated frontcourt throw-in spots to where the ball 

became dead. The shot clock must be reset to 35 seconds 

because the try hit the rim. (IAABO Rules Guide Chapter 20, 

Play 20:5:4)   

 
Play #6: A1 drives the lane to attempt a layup . B5 jumps to block 

the shot, and their hand contacts the backboard causing the rim to 

vibrate. The try is unsuccessful, and the officials assess a technical 

foul on B5. Are the officials correct? 

 
Answer: No. This is legal and play should be allowed to 

continue. B5 made a legitimate attempt to block the try. If, 

during the try, a player deliberately hits the backboard or 

basket in an act of aggression or to bring attention to 

themselves, they must be charged with a technical foul. (IAABO 
Rules Guide 10:4:4, 17:1) 

 

Play #7: A1 passes the ball to A2 in their frontcourt. The ball 

passes through A2's hands and rolls into the backcourt. The ball is 

not touched and rolls out of bounds on the sideline very close to the 
end line. The officials rule that this is a backcourt violation and 

award the ball to team B in their frontcourt at the 28 ft mark. Is this 

correct? 

 

Answer: NO. This is a simple out of bounds violation and 
should be inbounded at the spot it went out of bounds.  

(IAABO Rules Guide Figure 9-1 pg. 69 & pg. 72) 

 

Enjoy the remainder of your season. Use your 

CIAC pass to watch conference tournament 

games!  
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