State Board Delegates 2021-22

Bud Chernovetz

Ray Vanacore

Lou Matteo


Board 10 

New Haven

Mentor/Mentee Program

The Mentor/Mentee Program was created to assist in the development of officials interested in officiating at the varsity level.   Each mentee will be paired with varsity officials who will provide direct feedback after observing  games they have worked.  In addition the mentor will complete an evaluation outlining strengths as well as areas that need improvement.  Participants will also be evaluated by one of the Varsity Observers or the Commissioner at some point during the season. 


To be considered candidates must be in good standing with Board 10.   This includes attending required meetings and being current with dues and games fees.  Mentees must have a picture uploaded in Arbiter and they may be required to attend additional meetings on top of regular Board 10 meetings.  

All mentees are required to stay for the first half of every varsity game that follows one of their sub-varsity games except on Fridays where mentees are required to stay for the entire game.  As we consider this an important part of the learning process, failure to stay and observe varsity games may be grounds for immediate removal from the program.

If you wish to be considered for the Mentor/Mentee Program please email Steve Kirk at    In your email please include your goals as they relate to officiating, areas you hope to improve and why you would like to participate in the Mentor/Mentee Program.


President - Lou Matteo

1st Vice President - Dan Perkins

2nd Vice President - Jason Crockett

Secretary - Ray Vanacore

Commissioner - John Chernovetz

Interpreter - Steve Wodarski

Asst Interpreter - Bhavin Parekh

District Representatives

District 1

Kevin Wiggins: Ansonia, Beacon Falls, Derby, Middlebury, Milford, Oxford, Prospect, Seymour, Shelton, Southbury, Woodbury

District 2

Charlie Hague: Bethany, Cheshire, Hamden, New Haven, Orange, West haven, Woodbridge

District 3

Ric Raffone: Branford. East Haven, Guilford, Madison, North Branford, Northford, Clinton

District 4 

Frank Savakis: Meriden, North haven, Wallingford

District 5

Kerry Ervin: Naugatuck, Waterbury, Wolcott​​